Summary of ASEAN Financial Integration

Looking for the report?
We have the summary! Get the key insights in just 5 minutes.

ASEAN Financial Integration summary


7 Overall

8 Importance

7 Innovation

7 Style


The 10 countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) are close to creating the world’s newest economic power bloc – the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC). However, as economists Geert Almekinders, Satoshi Fukuda, Alex Mourmouras and Jianping Zhou point out, the AEC must plan and regulate on a transnational level to insulate itself from the kinds of shocks that shook the euro zone. With careful execution, financial integration will attract a surge of foreign investment and capital flows to the ASEAN region. However, as this lucid, structured and comprehensive analysis explains, various risks could imperil a project that shows huge promise. getAbstract recommends this study to investors, executives and policy makers with interests in the region.

In this summary, you will learn

  • What the Association of Southeast Asian Nations’ proposed economic community will entail for its member states,
  • How the countries are approaching financial integration and
  • How learning from Europe’s mistakes can help the ASEAN Economic Community.

About the Authors

Geert Almekinders, Alex Mourmouras and Jianping Zhou are economists with the International Monetary Fund. Satoshi Fukuda is in the graduate program at the University of California, Berkeley.



As the projected late-2015 birth of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations’ proposed ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) draws near, the goal of greater financial integration among ASEAN’s 10 members – Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand...

Comment on this summary

More on this topic

Customers who read this summary also read

More by category