Summary of The 5 Levels of Leadership

Looking for the book?
We have the summary! Get the key insights in just 10 minutes.

The 5 Levels of Leadership book summary


7 Overall

8 Applicability

5 Innovation

7 Style


True leadership is a lifelong journey that requires constant learning. Best-selling personal development guru John C. Maxwell shows you how to understand your current level of leadership, and how to climb to the next rank, and the next. Maxwell defines the “five levels of leadership” as “position, permission, production, people development” and “pinnacle.” He explains that to advance to higher levels, you must go beyond Level 1, where you use your position to influence others, and grow to Level 2, building relationships; Level 3, producing results; Level 4, developing your employees’ talents; and Level 5, creating future leaders. Some of his advice seems clichéd, but Maxwell provides an easy-to-understand blueprint for leadership development. getAbstract recommends his book to current and aspiring leaders in any industry.

In this summary, you will learn

  • How to define the “five levels of leadership,”
  • What your responsibilities are at each level, and
  • How – and why – to climb to the next leadership level.

About the Author

John C. Maxwell’s bestselling leadership books include Talent Is Never Enough, The 360º Leader, Leadership Gold and Everyone Communicates, Few Connect.



Leadership Is a Journey
Developing as a leader is like embarking on a voyage. As you progress, you will pass through “five levels of leadership.” Climbing to each successive level involves increasing amounts of work, but as you develop, you will find leadership easier. You cannot skip ...

Comment on this summary

More on this topic

By the same author

Contained in Knowledge Pack:

  • Knowledge Pack
    Best of John C. Maxwell
    Learn what John C. Maxwell has to say about communication, life management and leadership.

Customers who read this summary also read

More by category